Neighbors Helping Neighbors

Greater Chapin Community Foundation (GCCF) is an endowment publicly funded by and for the people living in Chapin, Ballentine, White Rock, Peak, Prosperity, and other nearby communities.

Our goal is to grow philanthropy in the Greater Chapin area, building a permanently endowed fund to address community needs now and into the future.

  • $500,000 invested in the endowment

  • $151,000 awarded to nonprofits serving Greater Chapin areas since 2003

  • 33 organizations awarded grants since 2003

Ways to Give

Your gift to GCCF will support needs in the Greater Chapin community long into the future.


If you prefer, you can mail a donation to Central Carolina Community Foundation’s office designated for the Greater Chapin Community Foundation. To make a gift of stocks, bonds, insurance or a bequest, contact JoAnn M. Turnquist.

Grants & Scholarships

The annual competitive grants process for Greater Chapin Community Foundation addresses a broad range of charitable needs for the Greater Chapin community. The goal of the grants is to uplift and strengthen organizations that are addressing critical needs within the greater Chapin area. In 2021, grant awards to the Greater Chapin community focused more heavily on nonprofits continuing to meet the physical and emotional needs of citizens during the COVID-19 crisis and awarded $19,100 to 17 organizations.

2022 Grant Cycle:

  • September 1, 2022 – Application Opens
  • September 30, 2022 –  Application Closes
  • January 1, 2023 – Grant period starts
  • June 1, 2023 – Grant period ends

Greater Chapin Community Foundation also offers two scholarships to students who reside in the Greater Chapin area:

  • Louetta Slice Scholarship for students 21 years or older
  • Mae and Wilbur Fulmer Scholarship for students who are members or children of members of Mt. Horeb Lutheran Church.

Applications for these scholarships are accepted from January through March each year.



Greater Chapin Community Foundation honors members of the community making a difference through their annual Chapin Philanthropy Awards. The awards are presented each year at the annual Groundhog Valentines Ball.

The Louetta Slice Philanthropist of the Year Award honors an individual for their outstanding contributions to the community. Albert Koon was named the 2020 honoree.

The Bud Lewandowski Youth Philanthropist of the Year Award honors a student or student group for their philanthropic efforts. Alexis Grace Moore received the award in 2020.

Nominations for the awards are accepted year-round and reviewed in January.



Save the Date

GCCF’s annual Groundhog Valentine’s Ball takes place the first Saturday of February each year. This annual fundraising event treats guests to a special evening of dining, dancing, and live music in downtown Chapin.

Local Leadership

Greater Chapin Community Foundation is led by an all-volunteer board of local advisors who work to grow the endowment fund and oversee the grantmaking process.

Billie Williams


Michael O'Shaughnessey

Vice Chair

Nicholle Burroughs

Publicity Chair

Caroline Bland

Scott Hanners

Angela Douglas Hood

Laura Huggins

Ray Hunt

Gerald Meetze

Lynda Steele

Contact Us

Greater Chapin Community Foundation
2142 Boyce Street, Suite 402
Columbia, SC 29201

Phone: 803.730.3275

Email: [email protected]